Home|About Us|FAQs|Contact Us

Our Leaders Board Members Privacy Notice Patient Portal Services Ainsworth Family Clinic Careers Practitioner Profiles Specialty Clinics Hospital Auxillary Endowment Fund Patient Education Snap Shots Brown County Hospital Pay Ainsworth Family Clinic Pay Financial Assistance

Board of Trustees Regular Meeting
Brown County Hospital Conference Room
Monday, January 19, 2015
4:00 p.m.


A regular meeting of the Brown County Hospital Board of Trustees was held Monday, January 19, 2015.  The meeting was called to order by Chairman, Mike Kreycik, at 4:00 p.m.  Other members in attendance were Mike Schrad, Ryan Welke, John Gross, and Ann Fiala.    Also attending were Shannon Sorensen – CEO, Lisa Wood –CFO, and Lisa Fischer – Recording Secretary.

 Mike Kreycik announced that a copy of the open meetings act is located on the counter in the Conference Room.


There was no public input at this time.


Consent agenda items were submitted for the Board’s review, including minutes of the previous regular Board Meeting, Medical Staff minutes, Quality Improvement minutes, payment of current bills, patient census statistics and financials, adjustment log, and Department Manager minutes.  Shannon Sorensen and Lisa Wood reviewed key information presented in the statistical and financial reports;  questions were addressed.  ­­­­­­­­­­­­­Ann Fiala made a motion to approve the consent agenda.  John Gross seconded this motion.  Roll call vote:  Mike Schrad – Aye.   Mike Kreycik – Aye.    Ann Fiala – Aye.    John Gross – Aye.   Ryan Welke – Aye.  Motion carried.   


Tammy Brown gave a Quality Update that included review of the most recent Quality Improvement minutes as well as a current project to enhance Nursing Services’ ability to be closer to patient rooms and increase the amount of time at the patient’s bedside. 

 Shannon Sorensen gave a Strategic Plan Update and noted that Brian Lee will be onsite this week for his Service Excellence Initiative.   The board focus group session will be held Thursday, January 22nd from 1:00 p.m. to 2:00 p.m. and Shannon encouraged all board members to attend and be involved with the process.   Board members are also invited to attend the Friday morning session on “HCAHPS Hospital of Choice” between 8:00 a.m. and noon if available.   With this process we will also be updating our Strategic Plan Document. 

 Lisa Wood presented a quarterly financial overview for the group reviewing key financial indicators. 

 Shannon updated the board on the progress made in proceeding with the heating and cooling piping project that will commence in early spring of 2015.  It is anticipated to have final bids for the project by the February meeting.    

 Lisa Fischer shared information with the board regarding the hospital’s group health insurance plan that is currently with CoOportunity Health Care, and the recent notices we have received of them being under rehabilitation by the Iowa Insurance Commission.   At the present time their rehabilitation efforts have included suspending all individual policies on the marketplace and not accepting new enrollments for group policies, but existing group policies have not been affected at this time.  However, Brown County Hospital is actively exploring other options for health care coverage so we can be prepared in the event that CoOportunity gives notice that they plan to liquidate prior to our renewal date of July 1st.
Shannon Sorensen updated the group on information from the Regional Provider Network (RPN) meeting that she and John Gross attended last Friday. 


Annual election of officers for the Board of Trustees was held.   Current officers include Mike Kreycik – Chairman, Ann Fiala – Secretary, and Mike Schrad – Treasurer.    Ryan Welke made a motion to retain all officers as in their current positions.  John Gross seconded.  Roll call vote:   Mike Schrad – Aye.   Mike Kreycik – Aye.    Ann Fiala – Aye.    John Gross – Aye.   Ryan Welke – Aye.  Motion carried.  

 Shannon presented information regarding proceeding with membership in the UniNet Network.   Mike Kreycik made a motion to approve entering into a membership agreement with the UniNet network.  Ann Fiala seconded.  Roll call vote:  Mike Schrad – Aye.   Mike Kreycik – Aye.    Ann Fiala – Aye.    John Gross – Aye.   Ryan Welke – Aye.  Motion carried.  

A letter of resignation from medical staff privileges was presented from Sean Takeuchi, MD.   Dr. Takeuchi was a consulting radiologist with Plains Radiology Services.   Mike Schrad made a motion to accept the resignation of Dr. Takeuchi.  Ryan Welke seconded.  Roll call vote:  Mike Schrad – Aye.   Mike Kreycik – Aye.    Ann Fiala – Aye.    John Gross – Aye.   Ryan Welke – Aye.  Motion carried.    


Module 4 of the board education series, Eliminating Harm, Improving Patient Care, entitled “Boards Must Collect and Review Meaningful Data to Keep Pace in a Changing Landscape” was viewed.   Additional information was distributed.   Discussion was held and questions were addressed.   


At 5:44 p.m. a motion was made by John Gross to enter into executive session to discussion recruitment and retention.   Mike Schrad seconded the motion.  Roll call vote:   Mike Schrad – Aye.  Mike Kreycik – Aye.   Ann Fiala – Aye.  John Gross – Aye.  Ryan Welke – Aye. Motion carried. 

At 6:05 p.m. John Gross made a motion to come out of executive session.  This motion was seconded by Mike Schrad.  Roll call vote:  Mike Schrad – Aye.  Mike Kreycik – Aye.   John Gross – Aye.  Ann Fiala – Aye.  Ryan Welke – Aye.  Motion carried. 

Following executive session, Mike Schrad made a motion to pursue a financial assistance/work agreement proposal.  Mike Kreycik seconded the motion.  Roll call vote:  Mike Schrad – Aye.  Mike Kreycik – Aye.   John Gross – Aye.  Ann Fiala – Aye.  Ryan Welke – Aye.  Motion carried.  

There was no further business to discuss and the meeting adjourned at 6:06 p.m. 

Ann Fiala, Secretary  

Lisa Fischer, Recording Secretary